Sleep, or lack thereof…

Our little Walkie Talkie has been sick, and the recovery is almost more painful than the actual “sick” time. I am reminded again of how important sleep is to maintain a positive level of functioning. I know with my two girls, when they wake up happy and talkative and engaged, they are well-rested. My older students also need their sleep- behavioral problems, sensory overload, and inattention can be cut down by a full night of sleep.

TheInvestigatingParent

It’s like a nightmare I remember only in my…well..dreams. My perfectly sleeping 7 month old daughter has a fever and barely slept a wink all night. Meaning my husband and I barely slept a wink last night. This is the girl who I normally can just waltz into her room, put her in the crib, and say “night night sweetie I love you,” leave the room and not even a peep. Last night I couldn’t put her down without her bursting into tears and crying for long periods of time. I would just rock her to sleep, slowly start to move her over the railing of the crib to put her down, and her eyes would pop open (like one of those dolls we had when we were kids) and she would start crying. So I spent much of the night sleeping off and on in the rocking chair holding…

View original post 299 more words

Leave a Reply

